Beyond her madness

— Remember when  you saw the moon beyond her madness? me hiding behind you after pancakes and toy cars? pulling a yellow sled for the boys in the middle of a blackout? the midnight in your eyes and the pieces of home in your messy hair as you rose up from the depths of yet another one of her pet projects? you poking me playfully in the side during a sermon about Job and his seven thousand commandments? the grandfatherly way you drove to our getaway by the sea, laughing gently about the journal I gave you?

I remember everything. Everything.

I thought you were the most handsome man in the world. Sometimes, in my dreams, I still do.

Leave a Reply

